Arab League (1)

The Arab League (officially, the League of Arab States) was formed in 1945 (1364/64 AH). The founder members were the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Jordan (then Transjordan), Lebanon, Iraq, Syria and Yemen. The purpose of the League was to foster Arab co-operation and unity.

Since its formation, another 15 Arab states have joined the League.

Egypt was expelled from the League in 1979 (1399/1400 AH), following its bi-lateral peace agreement with Israel (the Camp David Accords). After ten years of isolation, Egypt was re-admitted to the League in 1989 (1409/10 AH).

Related Items

Profile of Saudi Arabia

The Country Profile contains thousands of pages of information on every aspect of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, including its geography, history and development (political, economic and social).