Al-Shahadah (Testimony)

The first of the five tenets of Islam is the profession of faith in pronouncing of the words that "There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is His Prophet". This Shahadah, or testimony, when recited by a person of sincerity, sound capacity and without any mental reservations, constitutes the first major requirement for being a Muslim. Through this public profession of faith, the individual becomes part of the Islamic community.

Of parallel importance and in accordance with the Shahadah is the solemn belief in a general resurrection, in the final day of judgment, in all the prophets of God and in the Scriptures of God and the total submission to the will of the Creator and acceptance of fate - be it good or bad.

Related Items
See also:

Main reference point:


Profile of Saudi Arabia

The Country Profile contains thousands of pages of information on every aspect of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, including its geography, history and development (political, economic and social).