Geographical Regions of the Kingdom

Geographically, Saudi Arabia is divided into four (and if the Rub al-Khali is included, five) major regions. The first is the Central region, a high country in the heart of the Kingdom; secondly, there is the Western region, which lies along the Red Sea coast. The Southern region, in the southern Red Sea-Yemen border area, constitutes the third region. Fourthly, there is the Eastern region, the sandy and stormy eastern part of Saudi Arabia, the richest of all the regions in petroleum.

It is important to note that, for administrative purposes, the Kingdom is divided into thirteen Administrative Regions.

Related Items
See also:

Main reference point:


Profile of Saudi Arabia

The Country Profile contains thousands of pages of information on every aspect of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, including its geography, history and development (political, economic and social).